Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

New Scholarship in Memory of A Beloved Faculty Member

Fielding faculty Debra Bendell Estroff and her spouse, Ron Estroff, have established the Stephen Ruffins Memorial Scholarship in memory of their dear colleague and friend, Fielding faculty Stephen Ruffins, who passed away in April.

The Fund was established to recognize the legacy of Stephen, who was an expert in psychopathology, stress, social psychology, as well as other areas of psychology. In addition to being on the board for Fielding’s Alonso Center for Psychodynamic Studies, and a mentor for the African American Student Association, Stephen had a particular affinity for psychological issues pertaining to infants and children.

The new scholarship in his name will help students defray costs of travel and accommodations at National Session. Clinical psychology doctoral students who maintain good academic standing, and are primary caregivers, are eligible. The scholarship can be awarded to students-parents of young children and/or children with disabilities, and/or students-primary caregivers of close family members (e.g. elderly parents). 

Students can submit their application through the Common Scholarship Application, which is open in WebAdvisor for one month at the beginning of each term. The application period is noted on the Academic Calendar, as well as in email announcements to current students. This scholarship will open for application during the fall term for students to be able to receive support for attending National Session in January.

Donations to support the Stephen Ruffins Memorial Scholarship can be made online; or by check, made out to Fielding Graduate University, with “Ruffins Scholarship” in the memo. Contact Elena Nicklasson, director of development, at 805-898-2926 or with any questions.

Thank You Corporate Sponsors

Montecito Bank & Trust, Harley-Davidson