By |Published On: January 16th, 2018|Categories: Alumni, University Communications|

Sherry Hatcher Scholarship Fund established, Will Kouw Award presented

The School of Psychology kicked off Winter Session in Santa Barbara this week with the announcement of several awards.

Fielding alumna Dr. Elizabeth Hardy and Rick Omlor established the Dr. Sherry L. Hatcher Honorary Scholarship Fund in recognition of a faculty member that had a profoud influence on her.

“I was fortunate to have had the great privilege to train under the mentorship of Dr. Sherry Hatcher, who was my advisor and dissertation chair,” wrote Dr. Hardy, who was unable to attend the event. “Each day in my career as a clinical psychologist, whether conducting psychodynamic psychotherapy in a private practice or teaching, supervising, and facilitating case conference with psychiatric residents and child fellows, I am reminded of the important influence and impact Dr. Hatcher had on me. With that in mind, I hope the scholarships from this honorary fund will support Fielding students’ significant work so they can serve others in meaningful ways.”

In addition to her gift to establish the scholarship, Dr. Hardy pledged a matching gift to inspire additional donations to support the Fund. If you’d like to support the scholarship, contact Fielding’s Director of Development, Elena Nicklasson (

Clinical Psychology student Carly Larson (left), pictured with President Rogers, received this year’s Will Kouw Award.

Also announced was the 2018 winner of the Will Kouw Award, given annually to Fielding students whose scholarship, research, clinical experience, and/or professional goals excel in incorporating existential/phenomenological theory. Dr. Will Kouw was a seminal figure in the origin of the university. The scholarship was created to honor him and support his commitment to existential/ phenomenological philosophy, psychotherapy, and research.

This year’s Will Kouw Award went fourth-year Clinical Psychology student Carly Larson for her coursework in existential humanistic psychotherapy, her work with the terminally ill, and her research with medical oncologists.

Faculty service awards were also announced. Dr. Jessica Emick was honored for 5 years at Fielding; Dr. April Fallon for 20 years; Dr. Joe Bush for 25 years; and Dr. Henry Soper for 30 years as Fielding faculty.

About the Author: admin

Share This Post!

Filter by Category

Recent Posts

Join Over 7,500 Fielding Alumni Located Around The World!

Change the world. Start with yours.™