Arab American Heritage Month Reflections from V.P. of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion


In April 2019, President Biden signed a resolution to recognize the contributions of Arab-Americans to the United States as National Arab American Heritage Month. This profound move acknowledges the contributions of individuals of Arab descent to the United States. The Arab World consists of 22 countries in West Asia and North Africa, including Algeria, Bahrain, the Comoros Islands, Djibouti, Egypt, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Libya, Morocco, Mauritania, Oman, Palestine, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Somalia, Sudan, Syria, Tunisia, the United Arab Emirates, and Yemen. This pastiche of nations is also full of rich religious diversity that includes individuals from the Christian, Druze, Jewish, and [...]