Each year, the Marie Fielder Center for Democracy, Leadership, and Education recognizes an individual that has made a significant contribution on the national stage to advancing the cause of social justice with the prestigious Marie Fielder Medal for Social Transformation. 

Dr. Marie Fielder

Dr. Marie Fielder

Past recipients include Dr. Walter Bumphus, President of the American Association for Community Colleges, Dr. Gary Orfield, Co-Director of the Civil Rights Project at UCLA, Dr. Patricia Gurin, Nancy Cantor Distinguished University Professor Emerita of Psychology and Women’s Studies at the University of Michigan, American labor leader Dolores Huerta, and social justice activist, writer, and scholar Professor Angela Davis.

The Center is now soliciting nominations for the Marie Fielder Medal.

The medal honors an individual who has made significant contributions to society. Strong preference will be given to nominees whose work has contributed to advancing Indigenous Worldviews, ecological justice, and one or more of the following areas:

  • Social Advocacy/Activism
  • Research
  • Leadership
  • Education
  • Public Service

All members of the Fielding community are encouraged to nominate a candidate for the medal. You may nominate someone within the Fielding community (Faculty, Staff, Student, or Alum) or a member of the public outside of Fielding.

Submit Your Nomination

All nominations must be submitted by August 1, 2022. The award ceremony will take place on January 13, 2023, at the National Session in Santa Barbara, California. 

If you have any questions or comments, please contact Dr. Orlando Taylor or President Katrina S. Rogers.

Marie Fielder Center for Democracy, Leadership, and Education founding members and advisory council 

  • Lenneal Henderson, Internal Co-Chair, School of Leadership Studies (SLS) faculty member
  • Claudia Mitchell-Kernan, External Co-Chair, Vice-Chancellor and Dean of Graduate Studies Emerita, UCLA
  • Katrina S. Rogers, Ex-Officio Member, President, Fielding Graduate University
  • Nicola Smith, Ex-Officio Member, SLS faculty member
  • Orlando Taylor, Ex-Officio Member, VP for Strategic Initiatives & Research, Director, Marie Fielder Center
  • Rich Appelbaum, SLS faculty member
  • Anna DiStefano, Provost Emerita
  • Placida Gallegos, SLS faculty member
  • Anthony Greene, Clinical Psychology faculty member
  • Margo Okazawa-Rey, SLS faculty member
  • Patricia Arredondo, Founder, Arredondo Advisory Group
  • Stacy Blake-Beard, Professor, Simmons College (Boston)
  • Robert Corrigan, Former President, San Francisco State University
  • Carlos Grijalva, Professor and Associate Dean Emeritus, UCLA Graduate School
  • Sharon Hutchins, Director, IT Business Operations and Special Services, Intuit
  • Kelly Mack, VP for Undergraduate STEM Education, AAC&U
  • Camille McKayle, Provost and VP for Academic Affairs, University of Virgin Islands
  • Carlos Santiago, Commissioner of Higher Education, Massachusetts Department of Higher Education

Many thanks for giving this request due consideration. 

About the Author: Fielding News

Stories about people, issues, research, and innovation across the Fielding global community as reported by the Fielding News Team.

Share This Post!

Filter by Category

Recent Posts

Join Over 7,500 Fielding Alumni Located Around The World!

Change the world. Start with yours.™